In a bid to promote tourism in the u . S ., from subsequent month, Sri Lanka will offer unfastened visa to Indian passport holders on arrival inside the u . S . A . Starting from August 1.

The information was introduced through the Tourism Ministry of Sri Lanka currently in which they stated that they’ll provide the visa on arrival facility to the tourists, consisting of guests from India.

In the brand new scheme, Sri Lanka has added 10 extra nations to the listing that had been formerly excluded from the 39-united states of america scheme which have been supplied free visas.

In the visa-on-arrival scheme, the international locations that are now included are China, India, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Philippines, Russia and England.

The visa scheme was initially delivered inside the u . S . To boom the off-season tourism at some stage in the length from May to October. But after the terrorist assaults in Colombo, the tourism within the u . S . Dipped appreciably. So this new rule will assist raise tourism once more.

India is one in all the most important individuals to the tourism market in Sri Lanka, with over 18% of all traveler arrivals from the united states of america. However, India changed into no longer even covered inside the authentic 39 loose visa on arrival united states of america list.

Earlier, Indians needed to pay nearly Rs 2,400 on visa rate on arrival in Sri Lanka, with the introduction of India in the list; tourist can keep at the cash.
COLOMBO: Sri Lanka has granted approval to trouble on-arrival visa to vacationers from countries, inclusive of India and China, aiming to restore its flagging tourism region after the lethal Easter bombings.

On July 10, the Sri Lankan government planned to restore the visa on arrival and free visa programme for 39 nations with impact from August 1. But the programme then, however, excluded Sri Lanka’s pinnacle source markets, particularly India and China, in line with Colombopage.

The nations included, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States of America, Japan, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Thailand and Switzerland.

But on Wednesday, Sri Lanka’s Tourism Ministry approved the pilot undertaking to problem a loose visa on arrival to 10 extra nations, including Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Philippines, Russia, China, India and England.

The visas-on-arrival pilot programme became part of a larger initiative to growth visitor arrivals to the us of a throughout the six month low season period from May to October.

However, the initiative remained suspended indefinitely following the Easter Sunday assaults that rattled several high-quit hotels and church buildings throughout the united states on April 21.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *